

Publication Procedure for The Maastricht Study

Before submitting a manuscript to a journal for publication or an abstract to a conference, manuscripts and abstracts must be reviewed and approved by The Maastricht Study Management Team (MT).^a

In general, the rules of the International Committee of Medical Journal Editors (ICMJE) apply to each individual publication. (www.icmje.org)

Additional guidelines are:

- Co-owners^b of data and/or materials are permitted to opt for co-authorship. Which co-owners will be co-authors is determined during the evaluation of the application for data and/or materials (Appendix B).
- All members of the MT have the right to be co-authors, reflecting the efforts made by the MT to make The Maastricht Study possible. Which MT members will be co-authors is determined during the evaluation of the application (Appendix B).
- The order of the co-authors will be determined in advance and in agreement with the senior co-author and the MT.
- The applicant is required to submit their final version of the manuscript/abstract for review to all co-authors (including relevant co-owners and members of the MT). After all co-authors have had the opportunity to give feedback on the manuscript/abstract, the final version, the application form 'Application for review of a Manuscript/Abstract' (Appendix C), and a press release in layman's term (to be published on the "Maastricht Study" website, not before publication) will be submitted for review to the MT. Only after approval by the MT may the abstract/manuscript be submitted to a conference/journal. If it concerns a manuscript, the application for review must be accompanied by the datasets and syntaxes (SPSS) used. A sample of the syntaxes may be checked by the MT.
- Abstracts must be submitted to the MT at least 1 week before the deadline.
- If a member of the MT is not able to review, within the specified period, the abstract for which a manuscript is not yet available, that MT member will not be a co-author for the abstract. The MT member should, however, be offered the opportunity to be added to the list of co-authors of the corresponding manuscript.
- The MT will review abstracts as quickly as possible (after third-party counselling if necessary) and will communicate its advice within 10 working days.
- The MT will review manuscripts and check SPSS syntaxes (after third-party counselling if necessary) and communicate its advice within 30 working days.
- In order to ensure the epidemiological quality of the publication, the MT requests a member of the epidemiological advisory council^c to offer advice and support regarding the epidemiological aspects of the publication, if necessary.
- The final, submitted version of the manuscript has to be sent to the MT, as well as the published manuscript. In addition, the applicant must return the dataset and final (SPSS) syntaxes used.
- All co-authors must be updated on the status of the manuscript/abstract (reviewers' comments, correspondence, acceptation for publication).
- An approved manuscript abstract will be published on the website of The Maastricht Study, unless the first author objects.



Please submit manuscripts/abstracts, together with the application form (Appendix C), to The Maastricht Study via research.dms@mumc.nl

^a MT: Prof. M. Brouwers, Dr. M. Schram, Prof. P. Dagnelie, Dr. C. van der Kallen, Dr. A. Koster, Dr. M. van Greevenbroek, Dr. A. Wesselius, Dr. S. Köhler, Prof. B. de Galan.

^b Co-owner: an MUMC and/or UM co-worker with a senior position in a research discipline who has made a substantial contribution to the collection of data and/or materials, whether financially or content-based. In case the co-owner no longer holds a position at the UM or MUMC, he/she will lose his/her rights as co-owner. The head of the department will appoint a new co-owner. A list of co-owners is available from the MT. If the data and/or materials have more than one co-owner, a contact person will represent the interests of all co-owners.

^c Epidemiological advisory council: Prof. P. Dagnelie, Dr. I. Arts, Dr. M. van Dongen, Dr. A. Koster, Dr. C. van der Kallen, Dr. M. Schram, Dr. A. Wesselius, Dr. S. Köhler, Dr. M. van Boxtel, Dr. S. Eussen.